Connect with us


Breaking: INEC removes names of APC candidates in Cross River from ballot few hours to elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has directed its Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in Cross River to remove the names of all candidates of All Progressives Congress (APC) from the ballot for the general elections.

The REC, Dr Frankland Briyai disclosed this to newsmen on Friday, February 23, in Calabar, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

According to him, the decision is in compliance with a Federal High Court order which recognises the Etim John-led State Executive Council of the party.

The court consequently ordered the commission to recognise only candidates from the John-led State Executive Council.

However, INEC directed that the names and logo of the party should be retained, pending when the National Working Committee of APC would submit the names of candidates from the Etim John executive.

The letter which was signed by Rose Anthony, secretary to the commission, also directed the REC to update its record in respect of the list of candidates earlier sent to him.
The party in the state is factionalised between those loyal to John Ochalla and Etim John.

Meanwhile,a sourcepreviously reported thatINEC said it will allow the APC to participate in the general electionsholding inZamfara statein compliance with a court order.

The electoral commission in a statement issued on Friday, February 22, stated that its decision to to allow APC participate in the elections follows a ruling of the Court of Appeal which set aside the decision of the Federal High Court in Abuja which had earlier stated that the APC having failed to hold primaries could not participate in the elections.

INEC stated that following the ruling of the Court of Appeal, it would adhere to ruling of the Zamfara State High which ruled that the APC could participate in the elections.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Copyright © Naijagrooves Media (2016 - 2021)